Goat Cheese & Rosemary Dip

I’m a huge fan of bringing some form of chips & dip to parties. They’re generally easy to transport, easy to eat, and can even serve as good conversation starters. Most of my dips have a story behind them (let’s be honest; pretty much everything in my life has a story behind it), and the one I’m writing about today is no exception. This recipe was shared with me by the friend of a dear friend who, a couple of years ago, had a bachelorette party in Pensacola. Every time I make this dip – which is often – I think about that group of friends, and how much fun that particular trip was. This dip was the most popular one at the condo that weekend – it didn’t last an afternoon with a room full of girls who’d been out enjoying the sun & fun of the panhandle and who needed something to tide us over until dinner. 

In the interest of full disclosure, I don’t actually measure any of this out when I make it. Measurements are strictly for those of you who are more type A than I am when it comes to dip preparation. Come to think of it, I never measure anything when I make a dip. That’s probably why I love making them so much. 

Goat Cheese & Rosemary Dip with Fig Preserves

4 oz goat cheese

4 oz cream cheese

3 tablespoons fresh chopped rosemary (it absolutely MUST be fresh; don’t bother with dried)

freshly ground black pepper

pinch of salt

2 tablespoons honey

1 jar good fig preserves (my personal favorite is Dalmatia; it’s soooo good – and good fig preserves are crucial in this dish)

Let cheeses come to room temperature, and then blend them with a hand mixer. Add in the pepper, salt, rosemary and honey; mix to combine. Taste and adjust seasonings accordingly (add more honey if you’d like, more salt, or more pepper). Let it sit in the fridge for at least 2 hours to marry the flavors of the rosemary together. 

Immediately before serving, top the dip with the fig preserves. Serve with pita chips. Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

