Nutella Cookies

I have a long history with cookies. I’ve been baking them since I was 5 – old enough to read and follow the directions on the back of the Betty Crocker “Just Add Water!” chocolate chip cookie package. I can’t promise those actually got baked in the oven; it’s likely I just mixed things together and ate the batter. My sweet tooth runs deep.

Happy 2nd birthday to me!

Happy 2nd birthday to me!

photo-45

Not too much has changed…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I started making cookies from scratch when I was 12, memorizing my mom’s famous no-bake chocolate oatmeal cookie recipe. I’ll give y’all that recipe in another post, because chocolate oatmeal cookies are a whole other story all together.

When I got to Auburn, Mrs. South’s party cookie recipe became famous, and has since become my most requested recipe, making appearances at every sort of gathering from tailgates to random Tuesdays in a shared teaching assistant office to baby showers. They are buttery, melt-in-your-mouth deliciousness.

However, I recently found my absolute favorite cookie of all time. I’m not being dramatic – I’m being totally serious. They’re cookies made out of Nutella. Are you surprised these are my favorite?

They’re based on a recipe from Giada, but I adjusted it based on some suggestions in the reviews. The first two ingredients are Nutella and softened butter. I just… I mean… there are no words to describe how much I love these cookies. They turned out different than how Giada said they should, which would be to stay in a ball-like shape that you dust in powdered sugar. Mine flattened out into chewy discs that melt in your mouth, and I think I liked them better that way. nutella

Nutella Cookies

Preheat oven to 350.

With a mixer, combine 2 sticks room temperature butter, 1/4 cup powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla and 1 cup Nutella.

Here’s where I veer from Giada’s version: take out a spoon, and eat some of the batter at this stage. Try not to eat all of it, though; you still have cookies to make. But seriously. If you need to make someone love you, and that person is in your house, take them a spoonful of the batter at this point. I would dare them not to make out with you.

If you’ve been able to refrain from eating all of the Nutella buttery goodness, continue with making the cookies.

Add in 2 cups of flour – not all at once, maybe in thirds – and mix until just incorporated.

Place dough onto a silpat or baking sheet lined with parchment, in small, teaspoon-sized balls. Bake for 8-10 minutes.

Here’s something that requires great patience from me: let them cool before trying to remove them from the baking sheet. They will be all melty and gooey and irresistible. However: patience, grasshopper. Let them cool, so you don’t have a mess on your hands. While they’re cooling, dust them with some more powdered sugar.

Sorry I don’t have any pictures of them. I ate them all. 299000164_4d7398dbf6

One thought on “Nutella Cookies

Leave a Reply

