Tilapia Tacos in Corn Tortillas

Dear Flour Tortillas,

It’s over. It’s not you – it’s me. I’ve cheated on you twice already, with your cousin, Corn Tortilla. I used corn tortillas in a pork & spinach enchilada casserole dish about two months ago, and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about them since. I cheated again last week when I, once again, used corn tortillas in my roasted chicken enchiladas. Tonight’s dinner was the last straw. The way the corn tortillas cackled as I held them gently with my tongs (thanks, Dave, for reminding me I should use tongs while dealing with an open flame) and got them all black and crispy in preparation for the delicious tilapia and homemade guacamole I consumed for dinner… well… it’s just no longer fair to you to act like you’re my favorite.

I should’ve listened to the Mexican waiters back at Laredo’s in Auburn. My favorite entree – two soft tacos – by default came wrapped in corn tortillas. And I used to get strange looks when I requested that mine come in flour tortillas instead. In fact, when given the choice over the last several years, I’ve chosen you, flour tortillas, over the more traditional corn. But, I doubt I’ll be doing that much more from here on out.

We can still be friends. I expect to keep you in my fridge and use you in semi-frequent quesadilla making. But, I’m moving on. My new love is the corn tortilla. I hope you understand.

Sincerely,

LBDelicous

And what recipe was it that turned me into a corn tortilla lover?

tilapiatacosTilapia Tacos (for 2 people)

Take 3 small tilapia filets (thaw if using frozen, as I did)

Rinse and pat them dry. Sprinkle on some salt, chili powder, cumin & dried oregano on both sides. Cook in a nonstick pan preheated over medium-high heat with a tablespoon of olive oil, 3 minutes per side.

Divide up and place in corn tortillas. Hold tortillas (with tongs) over a gas flame until they get toasted and warm. Top with cheese, guacamole, sour cream, cilantro (of course, optional), and enjoy.

What’s that delicious pile of golden goodness off to the side in my picture?

Roasted Corn with Chili Lime Butter

First: let about half a stick of butter come to room temperature (or, if you’re like me and impatient, gently heat it in the microwave on super low power until it’s mashable). Using a fork, mix together with the zest of one lime and some chili powder. Set aside.

For the corn: Preheat a grill. Shuck 4 ears of corn. Sprinkle with oil. Grill about 12 minutes, until the corn is nice & charred all around. Remove kernels from cob with a knife, place in bowl. Toss with the chili lime butter.

Leave a Reply

